Why I’m Thankful.

gratitude

127 days later, I’m so thankful to still be sober. Having your life go to shit and hit the fan really makes you realize the blessings you have in life. Today is not easy as it will be my first holiday in a long time where I won’t be drinking. It’s a little nerve-racking, but I’m feeling good today and excited to be around people who support and love me.

Something I haven’t done in a long time is make a gratitude list. It’s something I know a lot people scoff at and don’t see the point. Those people are ungrateful to some extent. It’s important not just on thanksgiving, but at many times during the year to remind yourself of all the positive and meaningful aspects of your life. It’s something I wish I did earlier on in my sobriety. It could have provided me a lot more strength and relief from the pain and discomfort I was feeling. However, on this day of gratitude and reflection I am going to make my list and share it with you all. 

I Am Grateful For:

  • The new life given to me through my sobriety
  • The love and the support of my friends, family, coworkers, and more
  • My individuality
  • The right to liberty and prosperity
  • The ability to express myself freely
  • The resurgence of my creative energy
  • The gifts that have been bestowed upon me
  • The place I live and to be accepted by my community
  • My job and it’s flexibility to work with me
  • My education and all that it has taught me
  • The opportunities that lie ahead
  • The chance to start over 
  • The ability to reinvent myself
  • A place to call home
  • The inner strength within me
  • The earth that provides for me
  • The practice of yoga
  • The stillness of meditation
  • The ability to feel 
  • The compassion of others
  • The chance to make difference in people’s lives
  • The negativity
  • The struggles of my drinking days
  • All those who were once a part of my life
  • All those who continue to be a part of my life
  • All those who will come into my life
  • The good times and the bad times
  • The ability to be present
  • The ability to know what it’s like to be alive

Most importantly I am thankful for this blog and all it has done for me. You all, the readers and supporters, have restored a confidence in my abilities to be an artist once again. Allowed me to be vulnerable and tell my story in such a way that compares to no other kind of therapy. I cannot thank you for the love, support, and time you take out of your lives to sit down and engage with my story. It’s such an incredible feeling to wear your heart on your sleeve and be so open to the world. Thank you all for believing in me. I am eternally grateful and indebted to you all. 

gratitudequotes7

So remember, take some time to think about what you are grateful for. Tell those you appreciate them and much more. Have a wonderful thanksgiving everybody! 

Ever So Gracious:

Taylor James

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Taylor. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

